For whom the bell tolls.

Another Sunday morning has come without me stepping foot in my local Catholic Church. Or quietly climbing the steps in my beloved bell tower to ring the bells.

chapel steps

Its been nearly a year. Pretty soon I’m going to need to remove Bell Ringer from my twitter bio.

I managed for years to separate, however awkwardly, my queer feminist politics from the reality of being a Catholic. Actually, separate is not really the right word. It was more like a chaotic maelstrom of morally indefensible positions bashing against my spiritual heart.

But no more.  Or at least not for now. The stories of abuse and the Church’s continued failure to offer any meaningful contribution towards justice and reparation have revealed it to be an organisation that is rotten at its core. If we are eating an apple that we discover is rotten, we don’t keep nibbling at the edges. We throw it in the compost and get a new apple.

I guess what I’m trying to say is I’m off to find a new apple.

About Michaela Hart

Archivist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

