Ringing the changes

There is change afoot. Some bad, some good.

There are people I love preparing to say good-bye, much too soon. There are other people I love preparing for grand adventures.

It all requires pause, and time for trying to find the right words, and for having all the feelings.

I’m preparing for a smaller change. For the last two and a half years I have been working in a glorious old building. Beautiful, solid, warm and comforting. Monday week will see me in a very different steel tower.

It took me a little while to figure out how I wanted to say goodbye to this building, and mark my time here.

Visitors to my home will know I have a bit of a thing for tomb rubbings. A manifestation of a very human inclination to touch, and interact with something precious.

St John.JPG

St John. Who watches over me.

I have been experimenting with ways of making simple pencil rubbings from some of the features of this building, the old glass windows, the patterns from bad paint jobs, the deeply etched wood on the stair rail and the worn stone floor.

Stair rail.JPG

Stair rail.

 

Paint drip.JPG

Paint drip

Window

Window

I have also been thinking a lot and writing a bit about archives and emotions (more on this soon). Thinking about how we respond to the records in our care, and the people and stories contained within. This little project has had me thinking about the buildings and places that house those records and the way they leave an imprint on our hearts too.

Stone floor.JPG

Stone floor

 

 

 

About Michaela Hart

Archivist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

